Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

Edited by Bill Drummond: being a collection of 20 interviews of Israeli-based artists who were artists-in-residence in a Tower in the North of Ireland throughout 2016

A 196 page thick A5 case bound book, sold by us in a sanction of only 300 copies, limited to two per order

Includes a 25 page interview with Bill Drummond by Raymond Watson and an explanatory essay by Sagit Mezamer.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In



The title of the book exists for two reasons.

One: To get the casual bookshop browser to pick up the book, turn it over and read the words on the back cover thereby clinching a sale. 

Two: To signify the contents of the book

It will take you to buy and read this book to judge whether the title of this book achieves the second of these tactics
Raymond Watson instigated the book.
Raymond Watson is an artist from Ireland.
Raymond Watson was a member of the Provisional Irish Republican Army (IRA). While serving a long sentence in the Maze Prison, he was on the 'Blanket Protest' - or as defined by Thatcher, the ‘dirty protest’. He is also author of the book The Cell Was My Canvas

The book contains twenty interviews with twenty-one artists.
Raymond Watson conducted the twenty interviews. 

Sagit Mezamer is an Israeli artist
Sagit Mezamer selected all of the twenty-one artists.
The twenty-one artists came from Israel.
All twenty-one of the artists completed a residency in The Curfew Tower, Cushendall, County Antrim, Ireland, during 2015 and 2016. 

The Curfew Tower is an artist’s residency instigated by Bill Drummond
The book is edited by Bill Drummond.
The book also contains four questions set by Raymond Watson, which were  answered by Bill Drummond.


*                *                *


Raymond Watson and Bill Drummond will be conducting a short tour of Ireland in early March 2017, which will take in bookshops in Belfast, Dublin, and Limerick. It will also include political and cultural centres in Ballycastle, Cushendall and Derry.
This is Penkiln Burn book number 21